UCI WorldTour
English  |  Français  
Teams 2008 ▪
Home UCI WorldTour News Races Rankings Teams Pictures gallery

Olympus sarl
5, rue Prince Jean
Tel: +352 661.11.30.77
Fax: +352
(General Manager)
(Team Manager)
(Ass. Team Manager)
EKIMOV Viatcheslav
(Ass. Team Manager)
SHEFER Alexander
(Ass. Team Manager)
(Ass. Team Manager)

The Astana team has undergone a revolution for the 2008 season, with former Discovery Channel team manager Johan Bruyneel taking control of the team with the experienced Frenchman Alain Gallopin as chief directeur sportif.

Bruyneel has unified the best riders from the Discovery Channel team and Astana to create one of the super teams of the 2008 UCI ProTour. The team is named after the capital of Kazakhstan and financed by some of the country’s biggest companies but is registered in Luxembourg for 2008.

Tour de France winner Alberto Contador, the USA’s Levi Leipheimer and Germany’s Andreas Klöden are the team’s stage race leaders and all have the talent to win any stage race in 2008. Another stage racer expected to emerge is 24 year-old Janez Brajkovic. The Slovenian rider won the Tour of Georgia in 2007, showing his climbing and time trial ability.
BAZAYEV Assan KAZ 22.02.1981
BRAJKOVIC Janez SLO 18.12.1983
COLOM MAS Antonio ESP 11.05.1978
CONTADOR VELASCO Alberto ESP 06.12.1982
DE KORT Koen NED 08.09.1982
GUSEV Vladimir RUS 04.07.1982
GUSEV Vladimir RUS 04.07.1982
HASELBACHER René AUT 15.09.1977
HORNER Christopher USA 23.10.1971
IGLINSKY Maxim KAZ 18.04.1981
IVANOV Serguei RUS 05.03.1975
JOACHIM Benoît LUX 14.01.1976
KEMPS Aaron AUS 10.09.1983
KLÖDEN Andreas GER 22.06.1975
LEIPHEIMER Levi USA 24.10.1973
MAZET Julien FRA 16.03.1981
MIZUROV Andrey KAZ 16.03.1973
MORABITO Steve SUI 30.01.1983
MURAVYEV Dmitriy KAZ 02.11.1979
NAVARRO GARCIA Daniel ESP 18.07.1983
NOVAL GONZALEZ Benjamin ESP 23.01.1979
PAULINHO Sergio Miguel Moreira POR 26.03.1980
RAST Grégory SUI 17.01.1980
RUBIERA VIGIL José Luis ESP 27.01.1973
VAITKUS Tomas LTU 04.02.1982
YAKOVLEV Serguei KAZ 21.04.1976
FREI Thomas SUI 19.01.1985
KIREYEV Roman KAZ 14.02.1987
KUPESHOV Berik KAZ 30.01.1987
SCHÄR Michael SUI 29.09.1986
ZEITS Andrey KAZ 14.12.1986
  Contacts  Links